August 14, 2022
Spread the love

Cade Klubnik of Westlake (Austin, Texas) joins Derrick Henry (2012), Kyler Murray (2013, 2014) and Bryce Young (2019) as players to earn MaxPreps National Player of the Year honors. Klubnik joins the list after the Clemson signee led the Chaparrals to a 16-0 record, UIL 6A Division 2 state title and the No. 2 spot in the final MaxPreps Top 25.

The 6-foot-3, 185-pound senior quarterback led the Chaps to their third consecutive state championship throwing for 3,251 yards and 43 touchdowns while completing over 71 percent of his passes. The five-star QB threw three interceptions in 265 pass attempts and added 471 yards rushing to go with 12 more scores.

He finished his career undefeated as the starting quarterback and leaves as the school’s all-time leader in passing yards (7,426) and passing touchdowns (86) moving past such Westlake greats as Drew Brees, Nick Foles and Sam Ehlinger.

Klubnik split time at quarterback during his sophomore season and helped contribute for the UIL 6A Division 2 state champs, taking over under center as the full-time starter before his junior season. Over his last two years, the five-star quarterback accounted for 7,800 yards of total offense (6,746 passing, 1,054 rushing) and 105 total touchdowns while never losing a game. He led the Chaparrals to a UIL 6A Division 1 state title in 2020 and followed that up with a 6A Division 2 championship in 2021.

Klubnik committed to Clemson in March 2021 and signed during the early National Signing Day period. He joins D.J. Uiagalelei of St. John Bosco (Bellflower, Calif.) as the only other Clemson signee to be selected as National Player of the Year. Uiagalelei split the award with Alabama’s Bryce Young after leading the Braves to a MaxPreps National Championship in 2019.

He becomes the sixth Texas player to take home the honor and first since Murray of Allen who was named the National Player of the Year in 2013 and 2014.

Past MaxPreps National Players of the Year

2006 — Riley Dodge, QB, Southlake Carroll (Southlake, Texas)
2007 — Terrelle Pryor, QB, Jeannette (Pa.)
2008 — Garrett Gilbert, QB, Lake Travis (Austin, Texas)
2009 — Dillon Baxter, ATH, Mission Bay (San Diego)
2010 — Dano Graves, QB, Folsom (Calif.)
2011 — Johnathan Gray, RB, Aledo (Texas)
2012 — Derrick Henry, RB, Yulee (Fla.)
2013 — Kyler Murray, QB, Allen (Texas)
2014 — Kyler Murray, QB, Allen (Texas)
2015 — Derrick Brown, DL, Lanier (Sugar Hill, Ga.)
2016 — Tate Martell, QB, Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas)
2017 — JT Daniels, QB, Mater Dei (Santa Ana, Calif.)
2018 — Bru McCoy, ATH, Mater Dei (Santa Ana, Calif.)
2019 — DJ Uiagalelei, QB, St. John Bosco (Bellflower, Calif.) / Bryce Young, QB, Mater Dei (Santa Ana, Calif.)
2020 — Jaxson Dart, QB, Corner Canyon (Draper, Utah)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.